How do I delete or deactivate a patient?

  • Article
  • Updated 6 months ago
Photo of James C.

James C., Moderator

  • 80 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 24
Photo of PF Staff Ashley S.

PF Staff Ashley S., Official Rep

  • 1973 Posts
  • 191 Reply Likes
Official Response
Can I delete a patient? 

There isn't a way to delete a patient once they've been created. However, you can deactivate the patient which will effectively remove them from your list of patients. 

How do I deactivate a patient? 
In the Old EHR: 

To deactivate a patient, open the patient chart and select the Basic link on the left-hand side. Click the Edit button, uncheck the "Active patient" box at the top and click the Save button. 
 

In the New EHR:

To deactivate a patient, navigate to the patient's profile and un-check the "Active Patient" button. Save your changes.