How do I add, edit or remove users/ staff in my practice?

  • Article
  • Updated 4 months ago
Photo of James C.

James C., Moderator

  • 80 Posts
  • 2 Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 40
Photo of PF Staff Ashley S.

PF Staff Ashley S., Official Rep

  • 1972 Posts
  • 187 Likes
Official Response
To add users in the new EHR, select Settings in the top right of the EHR


Navigate to "Users" under Practice Settings


To add a new user, simply type their name, email, and role into the fields at the top of the User screen. Be sure to select whether or not you want that user to be a Practice Admin. 


From there, click "Add".

The provider/staff name will display below, and a verification email will be sent to that provider's email address on file. Here you can resend the email as needed. 


If you encounter an error message stating “The provided login email address is already in use by another user," you’ll need to ask the new user to provide an alternate email address.  Each person needs a unique email address for each Practice Fusion practice they log in to. Once an email address has been claimed, it cannot be used by any other user in any Practice Fusion practice.

Learn how to setup a new email address for someone in your practice here

Providing a Practice Access Code (PAC)

When adding a new user, your Practice Access Code will be listed below user details. The PAC will need to be provided to the new user, in order for them to log in to their account. For security measures, it is recommended that administrators tell new users this code verbally instead of electronically (via email, text, etc.) 


Adding all practice members as users within your account can help keep your practice up and running. If login issues are encountered by one staff member, any administrator can help reset their password. Designating multiple administrators will provide a variety of contacts, in case a staff member requires assistance. 

How do I remove users?

Any account administrator may deactivate a user by clicking the Settings icon, then Users tab (as detailed above). Click on the user’s name you would like to deactivate, scroll down to the EHR and Contact Info section and mark the User Status as Inactive. Be sure to Save settings after you have marked the user as inactive. This user will no longer be able to log into the account unless reactivated again by an Administrator. 


How do I edit user profiles?

Any administrator may edit a user's profile by clicking the Settings icon, then Users tab (as detailed above). Click on the user’s name you would like to edit. 


From this screen, the admin can edit the user's name, degree, specialty, role, facility, online booking page, medical identifiers, and login credentials.